1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

New To Girs & Saltwater

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Jim, Jul 18, 2013.

1. Hello all!!

I am brand new to saltwater and I am piecing together my 1st tank it is a 65 gallon tank and stand I will have a protein skimmer and led lights I am in search of alot of things like 2 heaters a sump and anything else you guys can think of I would need I have alot of help from the couple I am buying tank from but just eager to start and really in need of my sump so if anybody has one please let me know!!!

Thanks, Jim

2. Sponge Expert Reefkeeper Vendor

Marshalltown, IA
    Ratings:
    +233 / 1 / -0
    Welcome aboard Jim!! Have you checked our Buy/Sell/Trade forum? There are usually good buys there :0)

3. Lee

Lee Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Jim - Welcome to GIRS you found the right place to get help. Not sure how handy you are, but have you considered creating your own sump with an old tank and some baffles siliconed in?

4. Chris C. Experienced Reefkeeper GIRS Member

Des Moines, IA
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    Hey Jim,

Welcome to the site! I would echo that a custom sump is a great way to start and can be inexpensive. Right now Petco has their $1 a gallon sale going on and that would be a good way to start. With $10-$15 you can have all the glass you need cut for the tank and silicone it into place!

If you have questions ask.

5. Thank you for the suggestions I welcome them with open arms trust me I just done feel comfortable with my handyman skills to make one so I did find one for 100.00 on here and will be purchasing that. still looking for heaters and pumps to circulate water

6. Sponge Expert Reefkeeper Vendor

Marshalltown, IA
    Ratings:
    +233 / 1 / -0